A long flight...


On tuesday morning I started my travelling to go from Budapest in Hungary to New Orleans in the US - and it was a long day... Woke up at 3.30 in the morning to take the airportshuttle to the airport in Budapest, where I had to wait in line for almost two hours to check in and deposit my luggage - lucky that I was there in such good time! The first flight took me from Budapest to Münich (München) in Germany, which was a big (but not too big) and nice airport.

From there it was time to board my long flight for the day - it was a 10 hour flight to Charlotte, North Carolina. A city I had never heard about 6 months ago, but it's the city where Andrew grew up, so now I've heard a lot about it and it was nice to see it a little, even if it was only from the sky. :-) It took me 2 hours to go through customs and get into the country (because there was a long line), but after them taking my fingerprints, photo and asking me why I was there and how fast I could leave again they let me in! ;-) Charlotte was also a very good airport to fly to, very organized, and loads of food places... Even though I apparently missed the chicken cookies... Then it was only for me to board my last flight for the day to New Orleans, Louisiana, where I'm now. So after only 23 hours (!) of travelling I reached my destination! ;-)

Tien came to pick me up at the airport and it was really good to see him again, even though it felt like no time has passed by... He has an amazing and really big car that he took me home with. So crazy that everyone has cars here! At home almost noone of my friends has it since we're mostly students... But here cars doesn't seem like something that you'll skip out on even if you're studying...


We ended up at Tiens house where he lives with his parents, who are sooo nice! They had all cooked me great food last night, one vietnamese chicken soup and a typical New Orleans food that I forgot the name of. So good! :-) Since I'm sure I'll get the full American experience at Andrew's in Alabama it's also nice to see what's special here now.

I was really tired last night, but managed to stay up until 11 pm this time (6 am at home) and I slept until 7.30 this time so I hope that I won't be too troubled by the time difference. The trick usually is to get into the new time right away, so hope it'll work. Now it's time to start my day here and see the city of New Orleans, exciting! :-)


A Nijmegen-picture of me and Tien! :-)

 



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0