New Orleans!


Today Tien has showed me most of New Orleans and it's a very nice city. :-) The weather right now is crazy-hot though and very differeing (after a sunny day it now thunders). But still sooo good to be here with Tien in the US! So crazy that I now have all these great people to visit, but 7 months ago I had never met them... Here comes a lot of pictures to show my day.


Tien in front of his house and his own (supersized) car - that's the car that took us around the whole day, since public transportations here are a bit (read: very) limited.

 

We had traditional Vietnamese breakfast (different kinds of soups) in a restaurant. With that I also had lemonade which is so good - my new favorite drink or something! Tastes almost like a mojito without alcohol...

 

After breakfast we drove around a lot to look at both the poor and the rich neigborhoods of the city, and we were especially circulating in the area where Kathrina hit six years ago. It's really so crazy that so many people were killed and homeless then and even more so that the walls (according to Tien) hasn't been properly replaced yet. But all the new houses that were being built in that area were built on poles, so hopefully there'd be less damages if the same thing happened again. Another thing that stroke me when we were driving around were the huge differences in society here. We saw a lot of houses today that were worn down in a way that I've never seen in Sweden, but people were still living there, so sad...

 

Tien in front of his University. To the right is a big church and in the background a statue of Jesus - people are so religious here... In Sweden I feel like religion is very seperated from Universtity, but here it seems common that they're linked together.

 

Two houses in a nice neighborhood close to Tiens school. To me they look very typical American...

 

Me in front of a big catholic church in the city. It was very beautiful, but hard to beat the nice European churches... Another thing that stroke me today was that here it seems so important which kind of Christian you are - lutheran, baptist, catholic, presbyterian etc. - but is there really so much of a difference?


Café du Mond is a very famous café here that dates back like 150 years and is situated in the middle of the city. The atmosphere here is so good with jazz musicians playing just outside and we had freshly squeezed orange juice and the only thing they serve to eat here - fried dough with powdered sugar. This is also where Tiens mother works and she's with us in the photo in her working clothes.

 

The french market is very old and this is the place where they sold slaves in older years, but now they sell all kinds of other stuff.

 

At famous Bourbon street where there are a lot of bars and stuff.

 

Bourbon street by day - will probably get to see it by night tomorrow.

 

New Orleans was apparently owned by Spain for like 40 years, and in a square they had all the provinces of Spain. So maybe this is a sign that I should live in my favourite city again? :-)

 

Outside of all the travelling I'm doing at the moment I'm thinking a lot about different options to stay abroad after I graduate from law school - life really gives a lot of opportunities and it's so exciting! Also my Kosovo trip is approaching and the girl I'm gonna live with down there might have found us a really good apartment - but will write more about that when it's all clear. She also wrote that everyone down there are so nice, looking forward to my internship a lot! :-)

 


 

 

 


Kommentarer
Postat av: Malin

New Orleans looks lovely, I soo need to go there someday. I miss both you and Tien when I see all the pics... :-)

Postat av: Mahsa

Gumman, uppdatera din blogg så jag kan veta vad du har för dig! Saknar ju dig. Hoppas att du har det underbart. Stoora pussar

2011-08-23 @ 14:50:51
URL: http://mahsii.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0