My first day in Hungary


Yesterday I arrived safely in Hungary after a short flight of only 1 hour 45 minutes from Göteborg. Then I took an airportshuttle from the airport into the city and it was a kinda complicated system where I had to wait there for a while and then the shuttle took a while to get into town, or at least it felt like a while since I didn't know where I was going... But when I got off the bus nice Misi was standing there giving me a big hug, he was also an Erasmus-student in Nijmegen, and it felt really good seeing him again! :-) Unfortunately I didn't get to see much of him since there was a good train leaving in 20 min, but he helped me buy tickets for it and I also bought a sandwich since I was starving. Everything here seems very cheap compared to Sweden, the sandwich was like 12 crowns but in HUF it was 390, need to divide everything by 28 here to get the correct currency and it's a little complicated... :-)

From the train I had such an amazing view of the Hungarian landscape, which is really beautiful!!! The trains were otherwise not so different from the Swedish ones, except for the dining car where they made the food there themselves and you got proper plates and mugs instead of the paper ones in Sweden. Since I brought my computer I could also watch a good movie during the trainride (which were 2 hours 45 min) so it didn't feel so long! I watched "The Interpreter" with Nicole Kidman which I recommend to anyone interested in international crimes and the UN.

View from the train



When I later arrived in Pécs I got welcomed by my darling Zsofy! So happy to see her again, and it doesn't feel like it's been any time since the last time... Then we took the car through some narrow streets to get to her house. And when I got into the house I got my second big welcome by their Golden Retriver Lexie. Then we took a tour of the house which is really pretty, but the best thing is the view from the patio upstairs, so amazing:


View from the patio in the evening.


Me and Zsofy at the dinner table before dinner.

 

Zsofys mother then cooked me Gulasch with chicken in for dinner and it was absolutely delicous! And before I embranced their traditions with having some palinka (very strong liquor) as an aperterif. After that we spent the whole evening by the dinner table with her parents talking about stuff. The difficulty were thought that neither of her parents speaks English. But her father speaks German, so that was the language we mostly used since both me and Zsofy studied it for a while. Everything get's a little more complicated in German though... I'm also trying to learn some polite Hungarian words so that I can speak a little with her mother. This is yesterdays list (so that I won't forget), all spelled like I would pronounce it:

 

  • Finom = Nice, good (about food)
  • Jo esakat = Goodnight
  • Jo reggelt = Goodmorning
  • Iggen = Yes
  • Nem = No
  • Kösinam = Thank you
  • Eggasheggadre = Cheers, Enjoy, Bless you etc. (very useful word)
  • Szia = Hello
  • Jokepu = Gorgeous
  • Hodg Vodg = How are you?

I think that was pretty good for one day! :-) Will see if I get some new words tomorrow... I also haven't quite made up my mind about what language to write in, but since I think a lot of Erasmus-people might be interested andmost people in Sweden understands English I write in that for now. Might change my mind later or write both languages, but don't have the energy for that just now. Now I'm off to have some breakfast and explore Pécs! :-)




Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0