Visiting Andrew in Birmingham


On Friday morning I took an almost 8 hours long train trip from New Orleans to Birmingham, Alabama to see Andrew again, and when I finally got here it was really nice seeing him again after all this time... He has a really nice apartment on the top of a hill, so his balcony has an amazing view of the city!

 

After I arrived we went around the city a little bit to shop for food and we went to his office because he needed to pcik up some stuff. Then we went for dinner at the fish market in the eveing and had swordfish (delicious!), scallops (=pilgrimsmussla, not that impressive) and fried tomatoes which is apparently famous here in the south and it was good, but too much fried for me. We went on to a bar after that to have a drink and ended the evening with swimming in the pool Andrew has outside his house - so good! Can't believe the weather is so warm here - makes life so much easier! :-)

 

The pool seen from Andrews balcony

 

During the weekend we made some road trips, but I'll post about them in a separate post, so on Saturday evening Andrew cooked me steak, which was really good! :-) And after that and a some glasses of wine we headed down town to a bar and danced for a few hours. I wondering before about whether Andrew would be up for dancing or not, but he totally was! It was so much fun!!! :-)

 

Me with the great steak!

 

Us in the bar! :-)

 

On the Monday (yesterday) we started the day with visiting a law school just outside Birmingham to look around and since Andrews judge knows the dean (rektor) there we got an appointment with him. We started off talking a little about the American legal system and what the law schools are like and then he asked me a lot about what it's like in Sweden. Then we attended a class that he was giving where the students were gonna learn how to act in the court room and it was very interesting. He also introduced us to the class and told them a little about the Swedish legal system, so apparently I did a good job explaining it. A funny thing was though that one of the times he was mentioning where I came from he said Switzerland (Schweiz), so apparently americans don't know the differnce! ;-) The lecture was interesting because the way you speak in the court room is so different in US and Sweden since you speak to a jury in US and to a legally trained judge in Sweden. He ended the visit with also giving us a tour of the school, so nice of him! :-)

 

After this Andrew took me to lunch to have some really good hamburgers! So delicious! :-) And afterwards he dropped me off at a mall so that I could go shopping, since he needed to go to work. So I walked around there for a few hours and bought some things and I ended the visit with going to a movie - and I was surprised that it was sooo cheap! I paid 5 dollars (about 30 SEK) for it, which is almost a fourth of what it would cost in Sweden... It was also funny to see that they had big buckets that you could buy popcorn in, and that they asked if you wanted them to pour butter on the popcorn. But according to Andrew Alabama is one of the fattest states in the US, and with all the cars, fried food, free refills, cheap fast food and big portions it's not hard to understand...

 

At the hamburger place - Andrew in fancy business outfit. So strange that that probably is gonna be me too in a week down in Kosovo...

 

Me and my hamburger with sweet potatoe chips. (Sweet potatoes are what Andrew made me with the steak too and it's soo good, need to cook that!)

 



Kommentarer
Postat av: Mahsa

Gumman, du är så jäkla fin på dina bilder! Vad mysigt ni verkar ha haft det. Saknar dig!

2011-08-25 @ 23:36:56
URL: http://mahsii.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0